Thursday, April 3, 2008

2008 Pritzker Prize_Jean Nouvel

Jean Nouvel Gasometer A (2001, foreground?) in Vienna
Architect Jean Nouvel of Paris, France has been selected as the 2008 Laureate of the Pritzker Architecture Prize and will receive the bronze medallion and $100,000 grant in a ceremony on June 2, 2008, at the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C.

Members of the jury that selected Nouvel described his career as one of courageously pursuing new ideas and challenging accepted norms to stretch the boundaries of architecture. They cited his abundant "persistance, imagination, exuberance, and above all, an insatiable urge for creative experimentation."
Jean Nouvel Arab World Institute (1987) in Paris
Jean Nouvel (born 12 August 1945) is a French architect. Nouvel studied at the École des Beaux-Arts in Paris and was a founding member of Mars 1976 and Syndicat de l'Architecture. He has obtained a number of prestigious distinctions over the course of his career, including the Aga Khan Award for Architecture (technically, the prize was awarded for the Institut du Monde Arabe which Nouvel designed), the Wolf Prize in Arts in 2005. A number of museums and architectural centres have presented retrospectives of his work.
Jean Nouvel Torre Agbar (2005, upper right) in Barcelona

No comments: